Hear us Roar!

Honestly, I am struggling to write this. I haven’t even titled it yet.

March is Endometriosis Awareness month.

endoribbon

This blog post is so important to me. This one is for us heroines that live with the confronting pain and still manage to go about our daily lives. We live with a debilitating condition that no one can see and not many seem to understand.

Now, I’m not sure about you, but when I have days off because I can’t do much. A level of self loathing over takes me. I hate myself for taking the time off. I hate my body for not being normal. It’s that little voice that crawls in and reminds you how terrible your body is.

In these times it is so hard to remember you are not alone. In fact, Endometriosis affects an estimated 1 in 10 women during their reproductive years (usually between the ages of 15 to 49), which is approximately 176 million women in the world .

Yet, with the above statistic, it is still unspoken. People have always felt uncomfortable talking about personal issues, especially female to male. Tried explaining it to a male? Talk about frustrating!

I am over the cringe people give me when I explain what I have. I am over the look on women’s faces when you try to explain it and they roll their eyes like I’m being some kind of princess.

This stigma has to end.

When ever I have had a conversation about my endo, It’s always about the physical attributes of the condition. I want to speak about the mental as well. Sometimes we are our own worst enemy’s. I know I am.

lol

I don’t ever want you to think no one understands. I don’t ever want you to sit alone and wonder where your light in the darkness is. I don’t want you to ever feel alone, because you’re not.

Below is a list from Endometriosis Australia providing support groups in all states in Australia.

https://www.endometriosisaustralia.org/support-groups

Below is another support group for women ( must be signed into Facebook)

 

https://www.facebook.com/groups/110191292730855/?__mref=message_bubble

And of course, Me. I am always only an email or Facebook message away.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

